How to Tell if Someone Blocked Your Number
How to tell if someone blocked your number on a mobile device? If you face trouble contacting a friend via voice call or text message, they may have blocked your contact number. Of course, there are several causes why someone might not answer right away, but if your messages aren’t going through and your calls go directly to voicemail, you could have been blocked.
The single way to know for sure that someone has blocked you is to ask them straight. But if you’re searching for a less awkward way, we have a simple workaround for mobile users. Without questioning the person whether you have been blocked or not, you could attempt the following technique to see if they appear as a suggested contact on your phone, which would indicate that you have probably not been blocked.
How to Tell if Someone Blocked Your Number: Call Method
Call the contact number which you doubt blocked you. You usually won’t be capable of determining whether or not a connection has blocked you by sending a text, so you will need to contact them via call.
Monitor the way the call ends. If the call cuts after one ring (or, in unusual cases, half of a ring) and you are redirected to voicemail, you are either blocked, or your contact’s mobile is dead.
- Depending on your number’s carrier, you might hear a voice telling you that the number can’t be reached. This usually applies to AT&T and Sprint, and it indicates you have been blocked.
Call on the number again to verify. Sometimes a call will redirect to voicemail even if the line is free and your contact unblocked; calling again will confirm the call’s ending.
- If your request still dies after a ring or less and redirects to voicemail, your contact’s phone is definitively off or blocking your calls.
Call that contact number back with a masked number. You can perform this by entering “*67” before their contact number. While you can’t feasibly anticipate anyone to pick up a call from a restrained number, calling in this way will prove the contact’s phone situation:
- If the ring goes through like usual — for example, five or more rings, then your contact has blocked your number.
- If the call still stops after one ring or less and redirects to voicemail, your contact’s phone is off.
Request a friend to call that contact’s number. If you have decided that you’re blocked but would prefer verbal evidence, you can request a friend to call that contact and speak to them about the circumstances.
How to Tell if Someone Blocked Your Number: Through WhatsApp
Watch for the contacts online or last seen status on the chat screen: This is the first and the simplest way to verify if you have been blocked. While just this is no proof as the contact may have just switched their last seen settings, but it is undoubtedly among one of the signs.
View for updates to the contact’s profile image: In the state, if a person is blocked on WhatsApp, a user’s profile photo will never switch to you, and you will continually see the image that they put when they were conversing with you. If you can’t see the differences, you may have been blocked.
Send a text to the contact: Any text sent to a contact who has blocked you will commonly display one checkmark, which indicates that the text was sent from your side but never modernized to a double checkmark, which means the message has been delivered.
Call the contact: Any try to make a call via WhatsApp to the contact who blocked you will not go over.
Make a WhatsApp group with the contact number: Users must note that all the above efforts can fail by a dull network error as well and therefore cannot be counted as a final revelation that you have been blocked; this try will clear each of the doubts you have. Try to create a WhatsApp group with the number you think has blocked you. If you are stopped by a report saying “you are not allowed to add this contact,” then you have been blocked for assured.
If you bother that someone’s blocked your contact number, here are easy ways to check that proposition. And this should run without telling, but if someone did block you: For the desire of all that is great and holy, leave them alone. We assure you that anything you want to breach their privacy will only make the condition worse.